Jacqui attempts Lamb Burgers

Hello! Apologies for the terrible photo quality, but it’ll have to do.

So, I have never considered myself a great chef. I mean, yes I can live on my cooking, but if I can avoid it, I will. I luckily, for some reason that I will not question, have been blessed with an amazing partner. He is great in the kitchen. He’s really inventive and likes to try and cook new meals, whereas I am just honestly surprised if I don’t burn anything. We have just started doing little cute date nights where once a week we’ll go out to a market or have a picnic, pretty much spend time together doing things we wouldn’t usually do. The other night I thought that I would cook for him, and I chose lamb burgers after watching Jim Chapman’s ‘#COOKINGWITHJIM – Lamb Burgers’.

Cooking process (4/5)

I found these burgers really easy to make (I will leave the recipe below). All you have to do is chop everything up, mix them and bake them. Not a complicated process at all. I also really liked making the lamb patties, I will admit that it is quite fun to get your hands in the food and just be a little silly.

Taste (3.5/5)

I was initially going to put 3/5 but considering it was my cooking I’m just honestly really proud of myself and put it to a 3.5. The only issues I had with it was that I chose rather thick buns which meant it took away some of the flavour of the burger. The patties where quite flavoursome by themselves but the burger bun could have been a little thinner or lighter. I really liked the way the relish complimented the burger, I usually don’t like Greek Yoghurt ever, but I really enjoyed it in the relish. I also really enjoyed all the different spices in the meal as well. I don’t usually cook with spices, heck, I don’t usually much at all. It was quite refreshing and made me feel a little healthy.

Filling (4.5/5)

I was a little uncertain how filling this meal would be. I only had one burger with relish and chips and it filled me up with just enough room for dessert, so it was the perfect size. I am quite a large eater and I in particularly love large dinners so in this sense it was great.

Overall, I had a pretty great time with partner making these. I know I impressed him so I need to think of the next meal I can make to show him I might have some culinary skills of my own. So there is my first ‘jacquiattempts’, basically just a fun way of me showing no one you different things I attempt to do.

Ingredients list

(you can watch how it’s done over on youtube and you can #cookingwithjim too. note: I have altered the recipe a tad to fit 4 people)

Ingredients:
500 grams of lamb mince
1 garlic clove, finely crushed
1/2 white onion (we used spanish onions because I sort of forgot to buy white onions)
2 tbsp of mango chutney
1.5cm piece of ginger
1/2 red chilli
1 tsp of coriander seeds
1 tsp of cumin seeds
1/4 tsp of tumerick
salt and pepper
enough potatoes/sweet potatoes to satisfy your cravings for wedges
oil
3 tomatoes
100 grams of Greek Yoghurt
1/2 small red onion
1 lime

Published by

jacquifool

19. Australia. Amateur Blogger. Expert Fangirl. http://jacquifool.tumblr.com/ http://instagram.com/jacquifool

One thought on “Jacqui attempts Lamb Burgers”

Leave a Reply

